Readers often ask about sequels. One young student threatened to do bodily harm to himself if I did not produce a follow-up to THE MUSIC OF DOLPHINS. (the word “sike” followed that threat which I’m interpreting as “just kidding.”)

But many of you are quite serious about your yearning for sequels.  If I believed I had something new to say on the matter…if I believed I could write a sequel that was just as compelling and fresh as the original book…I’d give it a try.

But the fact is that once I’ve gone through a year or two of research, writing, and revision, once a book is published, I’ve said all I wanted (and needed) to say about those characters, that theme. It  would feel onerous to go back and retrace a road already traveled.

For those of you who have been waiting for sequels all these years, please accept my heartfelt apologies. I think if I haven’t written a sequel by this point, it’s probably never going to happen. Console yourselves by diving into the sea of books waiting for you, a few of which you will love so much that they’ll become “desert island books”…books you’d wish to have with you if you were stranded on a desert island. This phrase I learned from Mr. O’Keefe and his remarkable third graders at the Center for Inquiry in Columbia, South Carolina.

