That would be like my asking you if you like to breathe.

I love playing with words, learning new subjects, studying human nature.

I love seeing the world through different eyes, imagining what it might be like to move through life in a different body, imagining everything from a dramatically different point of view.

I love setting a plot in motion and observing how fictional characters collide, how their histories come together and separate.

I love finding better ways to say things, more precise ways, more revelatory ways that help the character tell his or her story in a way that invites readers in and makes them want to stay awhile.

And I love hearing from readers.

Do I like being a writer? You bet I do. Being a writer feels as glorious as sunlight humming through the outstretched palms of new spring leaves.

