I read every bit of dolphin research I could get my hands on. I even read up (and attended lectures and workshops) on non-verbal communication to better understand dolphin body language.

Traveling down to Florida, I spent time with a highly intelligent and extraordinarily emotive dolphin named Sunset Sam at a research facility in the Tampa area.

The Clearwater Coast Guard graciously agreed to take me along on a routine surveillance flight over the Straits of Florida where I hoped to observe dolphin behavior in the wild. Unfortunately a hurricane arrived in town about the same time as our appointment and we had to cancel our plans.

One of the most fascinating studies I read documented an experiment where a young researcher lived in two flooded rooms with a solitary dolphin for about ten weeks. The experiment, which bordered on science fiction, proved to be a rich stimulant to my imagination.

