I think we are all creative.

But we follow different paths.

My path was sometimes quite challenging when I was a child. Creating alternate realities in my imagination made it possible for me to survive in the real world.

There’s an expression. “Still waters run deep.”

Imagine a very introverted child with large, green eyes, a smattering of freckles, bucked teeth, and a tangle of brown curls. That quiet, wide-eyed child missed very little.

There was so much going on in my head and in my heart. I learned at an early age that if I wrote down some of what I was thinking I felt better. When my teachers read what I wrote they encouraged me to write more. They told me I was “very creative”. I believed them and made every effort to live up to their expectations. Creativity became a habit, a self definition, a way of being in the world.

This is a huge shout out to teachers everywhere. Thank you! You have no idea what a profound impact you have on our lives.

