Each of these fiddles looks a lot like the ones around it, but each has subtle (and sometimes not so subtle) differences. Each has its own unique voice and when played will sing with that exceptional tone that is its own. When you add in the individual technique of the musician bowing it, you begin to understand the complexity and singularity of each instrument.

Was it hard to become an author? What did I have to do? First I had to discover my own voice, the qualities that distinguished me from those around me. Then I had to learn to use that voice. I needed to train my writing muscles the way a musician needs to learn to play. Practice, practice, practice. Was it hard? Yes. And it continues to be hard. But if it gives you pleasure to make music, whether with an instrument or with words, the work is well worth while.

