DSC01026I’m not certain I agree with you that Jerry Lee is the happiest character in the book but you are certainly entitled to your opinion. There are two factors that contributed to the creation of Jerry Lee. The first came early on, while I was walking through New Hampshire. The very first day of my walk I passed a sign advertising puppies for sale. I began thinking then, as I was walking, how different it would be if I had a dog along with me. The other experience that created in my mind a need for a dog was a chance observation on Main Street in Brattleboro when I came upon a teenager and her dog sitting on the edge of the road. These chance encounters, these unanticipated moments, these stray threads the writer discovers over the course of the months and years it takes to write a book have a way of entering the writer’s brain and becoming caught up in the weaving of the story.

