7april2013lc 217

I’m not certain how to answer this.

When we are very young we take many things seriously only to be patted on the head by the adults around us. When I was very young I took writing seriously. But the adults in my family were gently (and sometimes not so gently) dismissive. So I stopped sharing my writing rather than suffer the embarrassment of having my deepest inner thoughts become the subject of family ridicule.

I began sharing my writing again in high school because of an understanding and supportive English teacher named Robert Corrigan. If not for the support of teachers like Mr. Corrigan it’s possible I would never have become a published author.

And even so, it took another twenty-five years  before an editor took my writing for children seriously enough to publish it. That editor was Brenda Bowen. Thank you, dear Brenda.

