18may2013lc 011

Sometimes events in a writer’s life directly lead to a story idea. In the case of JUST JUICE, my family purchased a house we very much admired but could not have afforded at full price. The house had come on the market because the owner owed a significant amount in unpaid taxes. We paid their taxes and “owned” the house with the real owners for eleven months. During that time I imagined what it would be like to live in that house. I also imagined what it would be like to be the real owners looking at the prospect of losing their home. In the final weeks of that year in which we both “owned” the house, the real owners finally paid their back taxes, we were refunded our money, and we never stepped foot inside the house. I was full of regret. But I was also relieved for the home owners who did not have to surrender their home. JUST JUICE grew out of that experience.

